My life, a prayer

Psalm 130:3,4 (MSG) says:

If You, God, kept record of wrongs, who could stand a chance? As it turns out, forgiveness is Your habit, and that’s why You’re worshiped. I pray to God — my life a prayer — and wait for what He’ll say and do.

I love to read a piece of scripture in NIV (my Bible) and then open my Bible App to view it in lots of different translations. It gives me fresh eyes and keeps my ears attentive. Today when I read the MSG translation, these lines stood out to me.

The words used to describe David’s honest devastation in realizing his sins and his transition into awe of God’s holiness. Isn’t this so true? In finally seeing our sins, our eyes are suddenly open to the vast purity of Christ in all He’s done, of Creator and Father God, and of the Holy Spirit. And in light of His Trinity’s utter holiness, we again are reminded of our weak and unclean human nature. But (enter big sigh of relief), the MSG translation then states:

As it turns out, forgiveness is Your habit.

And everyone said, AMEN!

Our knees give way. We fall down in awe. Our worship becomes so very honest and true when we have an accurate perspective of Him. And this is His habit. What He’s good at, what He loves to do, His very nature.

And in verse 7 we’re given instruction followed by some more really, really great news:

O Israel, wait and watch for God – with God’s arrival comes love, with God’s arrival comes generous redemption

Let us live these days given to us watching and waiting for God’s every move. For with His arrival comes very generous redemption.

20140306-204005.jpg
Photo by me: @emkarwoski

Standard

Leave a Reply

